Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of nine members, who are appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for a term of four years. The Planning Commission elects from among its members a chair and vice-chair who will serve a term of one year. The Planning Commission meets the first and third Thursday of every month at 6 p.m. in the County / City Administration Chambers, located in the basement at 1010 Tenth Street, Modesto, CA 95354.

The Board of Supervisors has delegated to the Planning Commission authority to make decisions on Use Permits, Parcel Maps, Variances and Exceptions; however, any of the decisions made by the Planning Commission are appealable to the Board of Supervisors.

The Board of Supervisors has not delegated full authority to make decisions based on staff reports on Subdivisions, Siting of New Airports, Rezones and General Plan Amendments. The Planning Commission considers these issues and formulates a recommendation for the BOS for final action.

Members of the Planning Commission may participate in various committees, such as the General Plan Update Committee. Members of the Planning Commission also rotate as members of the Stanislaus County Nuisance Abatement Hearing Board.